There are several factors that go into determining your personal property taxes in South Carolina. Taxes are based on the assessed value of your home and the millage or "mil" rate of the county and city where you live. There are also different rates for primary residences and investment properties, and a homestead exemption for certain owners.
For a complete overview of the SC property tax laws, download the Department of Revenue's complete guide here.
Owner Occupied vs. Non-Owner Occupied
There are 2 assessment rates in South Carolina. If a home is your primary residence, you are assessed at the 4% rate and are exempt from school taxes. If you own a 2nd home, rental property or vacant land, you are assessed at the 6% rate and don't receive the school deduction. So the non-owner occupied home will generally be taxed at 2-3 times a comparable owner occupied home.
If you own a primary residence, are over 65 years old, and have been resident of South Carolina for over 1 year, you may apply for the Homestead Exemption. The first $50,000 of your property value will then be exempt from property taxes.
Below are the links to property tax estimators for each county in the Charleston area. Taxes are based off the assessed value, which may be different from your purchase price, but this is a good place to start when trying to figure out your monthly expenses. If you're still confused, feel free to call us!